kiss of broken glass

From Amazon:

Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.

 

Baer’s Commentary:

Written as a novel in verse, Kuderick’s novel brings a difficult, yet important, topic to light. Each free verse poem is carefully crafted, the words creating strong imagery of Kenna’s experiences as she reflects on a history of self-injury. We feel Kenna’s pain as she details the incidents which lead her to the psych ward, from seemingly apathetic parents to toxic friendships. The book is left somewhat open-ended, leaving room for the reader to draw their own conclusions as to Kenna’s ultimate fate. There is also a resource guide in the back for anyone who may be struggling with self-injury, whether it is for themselves or seeking help for someone they care about. This novel is a great tool for opening the door to tough conversations about self-injury and other mental health issues.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s