Little Monsters

We have a guest post from my student Emily S.!

From Amazon:

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

 Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

 Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

Emily’s Commentary:

The book Little Monsters has similar ideas to Delirium by Lauren Oliver and Midnight at the Electric by Jodi Lynn Anderson. It is similar to Delirium because it deals with trusting people. In Delirium Lena had to trust Hanna to keep her secret about escaping into the wilds. In Little Monsters, Kacey had to trust the cops and her family to find Bailey and her killer. The book Midnight at the Electric is similar to Little Monsters because Catherine had to sacrifice things to help save someone she loves. In Little Monsters, Kacey had to sacrifice time to help find Bailey. These books have similar ideas but are not really similar at all. If you like suspense and murder mysteries, this is a good book for you.  

My overall impression of Little Monster is that it was a really good read. The characters were very well expressed and the plot was interesting. There is a lot of suspense and mystery in the book. I also think that the way she organized the book was very amusing. While reading this book you have to ask yourself many questions, and the further along you get the more questions and answers there are. I would recommend this book to 7th grade and up. If you cannot handle mature language, then I wouldn’t recommend this book for you because there is a lot of mature language in this book. Overall, this was a great book and I would love to read the author’s other books.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s